My Hooper Moment

Jeff on the beach

Despite the clunkiness of some of the special effects, Jaws is a great movie that influenced a whole generation of organismal biologists into becoming marine ecologists, or at least terrestrial ecologists with a toe in the water.  The movie contains some iconic characters and wonderful lines.  One of my favourite scenes* is the exchange between Hooper, the shark expert, and Mayor Larry Vaughn, the head-in-the-sand local politician:

 

Hooper:  What we are dealing with here is a perfect engine, an eating machine.  It’s really a miracle of evolution.  All this machine does is swim.  And eat.  And make little sharks.  That’s all.  [Gestures to advertising sign on which a huge shark fin has been drawn]  Now why don’t you take a long, close look at this sign. Those proportions are correct….

Mayor Vaughn:  Love to prove that wouldn’t you? Get your name into the National Geographic[Walks away, smiling dismissively]

Hooper:  [pause, then slightly maniacally] ….hahahaha….hahahahaha….

 

Well today I got my Hooper Moment, my name in the National Geographic following an interview about pollination biology with James Owen, one of their writers.  It’s the online version, not the printed magazine, but I’m counting it anyway.  It’s a nice piece and, for once, doesn’t dwell on honey bees, or even bees at all.

In 1975 I was 10 years old and was accompanied to the cinema to see Jaws by my late parents.  Neither were impressed:  my mother watched the whole movie with her hands over her face and my father opined that it “was not as good as King Kong in the 1930s”.  Nonetheless, I’d like to think that they’d have been proud of my Hooper Moment.

[Thanks to Mark for capturing a moment on the North East coast, some years ago]

 

*With apologies for the crappy music and dumb repeat-edits – scroll forward to 2:25.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Biodiversity, Pollination, Uncategorized

5 responses to “My Hooper Moment

  1. Impressive article! Those pollinator-stories stay fascinating

    Like

    • Yes, they are fascinating, but also not uncommon. Fly pollination is second only to bee pollination in terms of numbers of plant species which rely on them. And poorly documented compared to bee pollination.

      Like

  2. Andre Rech

    I like to think this kind of situation as an inevitable consequence of a carrier devoted passionately to nature and in this particular case, plant reproduction or pollination ecology. I believe, we, as enthusiastic researchers, have a greater mission on the progresses of science, what I think, is to show how people can have a job as one of the most enjoyable things they could hope for their lives. A brain were scientific information, love for nature and emotional feelings are mixed and come naturally during our talks. A reference like this (lecturers, professors, etc…) is fundamental in everyone’s carrier. Congratulations for your Hooper’s moment, you definitely deserves it…

    Like

  3. I greatly enjoyed the article, despite it not being about bees. I enjoy seeing flies pollinating flowers too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

